Skip to main content
Media ReleasesNews Archive

Kevin Chapman receives New Year Honour

By September 9, 2014October 22nd, 2014No Comments

Publishers Association of New Zealand immediate past president, Kevin Chapman, was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Year Honours announced today. Kevin led the efforts of PANZ and others in the book industry here to secure New Zealand’s Guest of Honour year at world-leading Frankfurt Book Fair in 2012.

“Through his South Island charm and pure force of nature, Kevin Chapman managed to get New Zealand writers on the world stage at Frankfurt 2012. It was an enormous achievement to bring together New Zealand publishers and authors, government agencies and embassies, German publishers and festivals and much more to make a huge event happen,” PANZ president Sam Elworthy said. “We’re a more international industry than ever now and we have Kevin Chapman to thank for that.
“It’s great to see him recognised for those achievements and for his long service to the wider book industry.”

Other Honours for Literature

Carruthers made a Companion

Alastair Carruthers, who has had twelve years of involvement with the Arts Council and recently retired after six years as their Chair, became a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Year Honours. During his time at the Arts Council, Alastair saw returns from increased public investment in the arts being enjoyed by a greater number of New Zealanders. He was also heavily involved in our GoH year in Frankfurt. 

Writers Awarded

Three writers, Booker prize winner Eleanor Catton, noted poet Jenny Bornholdt and writer and art critic Greg O’Brien are also named in the Honour List as Members of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

We congratulate you all.