Skip to main content

New Zealand Book Industry Awards

Entries are now open for you to submit your nomination to win an award at the prestigious 2023 New Zealand Book Industry Awards.

These awards are jointly managed by Booksellers Aotearoa and PANZ, and the judges for the awards are selected from within the book industry here and overseas.

The 2023 Book Industry Awards dinner and ceremony will be held on Saturday 22 July at Rotorua’s Novotel Lakeside Hotel.

Entries are open now for this year’s awards and links to the criteria and entry forms are below:

Emerging NZ Publisher of the Year (Enter Now)
Emerging NZ Bookseller of the Year (Enter Now)
Marketing and Publicity Strategy of the Year (Enter Now)
Sales Professional of the Year (Enter Now)
Mana Māori Award (Enter Now)
Innovation Award (Enter Now)
Nielsen BookData NZ Publisher of the Year (Enter Now)
Nielsen BookData NZ Bookshop of the Year (Enter Now)

In addition to these awards the following presentations will be made:

Nielsen BookData NZ Bestseller Award (best-selling NZ published title between April 2022 and March 2023)
Nielsen BookData International Bestseller Award (best-selling international title in NZ between April 2022 and March 2023)
Aotearoa Booksellers’ Choice Award
Lifetime Achievement Award


  • Entries open – Tuesday 2nd May
  • Entries close – Monday 12th June, 8am
  • Judging completed by Wednesday 28 June
  • Ceremony – Saturday 22 July

All the very best with your entries, and we look forward to seeing you at the 2023 NZ Book Industry Awards!